Monday, November 07, 2005

COM: Blogarithmic #51

Confirming the playoff info i had the other day. In the first round it'll be Smithson Valley at San Marcos, and New Braunfels Canyon at Tivy. The San Antonio Express-News picks SV and Tivy. Ingram is finished for the year, but with a respectable 6-4 record, one of their best season's ever, and now getting ready for their state No. 1 ranked basketball team to hit the floor. Highland Park finished undefeated, majorly undefeated, and since they're 4A i suspect they have a first round bye, but i'll need to check that. The Ags have to win out over Oklahoma and Texas to have a winning season. Well, at least basketball is looking pretty good, perhaps for the first time since the amazing Shelby Metcalf left (was chased out) in the early 80s, ushering in two decades of less-than-mediocrity. But, we'll see.

MASH opened last weekend at Playhouse 2000. I've heard good things so maybe i'll trek over there this week.

Lyle's on the cover of KGSR's new compilation CD:

Clifton Fifer toots it up at the American Museum of Western Art:

Photo by Jack Parker

Well, time to laugh at Kansas again.

Meanwhile, we take our turn at the Land of Morons label.

Some news from the Men's US National Team Players Association:

San Jose's Dominic Kinnear was selected Major League Soccer's Coach of the Year on Tuesday while Michael Parkhurst of the New England Revolution won Rookie of the Year honors.

The San Jose Earthquakes announced the 2005 team awards today. Midfielder Dwayne De Rosario led the way as he earned the Budweiser Golden Boot and the team's Honda Most Valuable Player award. Pat Onstad was named the Earthquakes Defensive Player of the Year, while Craig Waibel was the team's U.S. Soccer Foundation Humanitarian of the Year for the third consecutive season.

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home