Friday, December 01, 2006

COM: Blogarithmic #180

Well, i should have posted here that last night was the opening of ITM's Fall musical, You're A Good Man Charlie Brown at Warrior Theatre, directed by Marie Cearley. It was a wonderful opening. The show, while far from deep, is not only the usual excellent production one expects from an ITM show, but is downright laugh out loud funny over and over. The costumes alone, by Carol Priour and Ruthie Schmuck, are worth the price of admission. Show again tonight at 7:30 and a 2:00 matinee on Sunday. Next week has evening shows Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and another matinee on Sunday.

Schellas Hyndman has long been a cornerstone of Texas Soccer, and has done much with often little to work with. This dissing from Soccer America was somewhat surprising, though it's Ridge Mahoney continues his undefeated streak of superficial blather:

HITCHCOCK'S CHOICE: MLS assistant, college product or national team vet
By Ridge Mahoney

As many MLS coaches descend on St. Louis for the Men's College Cup this weekend, there's another set of semifinalists in Dallas.

FC Dallas general manager Michael Hitchcock has gone "local" and trimmed his list of head coach candidates to four: SMU coach Schellas Hyndman, current assistant coach Steve Morrow, D.C. United assistant Tom Soehn, and former U.S. international Jeff Agoos, who was recently named technical director of the New York Red Bulls and was raised in nearby Richardson.

Hyndman's name has arisen each time Dallas has fired or not retained a head coach, but he's never won an NCAA title in the 23 seasons he's coached the Mustangs. The coaches who've won titles in MLS straight out of college -- Bruce Arena (D.C. United 1996, 1997) and Sigi Schmid (Los Angeles, 2002) -- collected multiple collegiate crowns before jumping to the pro game.

Bob Bradley (Chicago 1998) didn't win any titles at Princeton but spent two years as Arena's assistant in D.C. before moving on to the Fire, the MetroStars, and Chivas USA. Frank Yallop (San Jose 2001 and 2003) and Dominic Kinnear (Houston 2006) were MLS assistant coaches before they won league championships.

Thomas Rongen coached Tampa Bay and New England before winning with D.C. in 1999. Bob Gansler (Kansas City, 2000) and Steve Sampson (Los Angeles, 2005) coached national teams before winning their MLS titles. (Sampson coached Santa Clara to the 1989 NCAA title, which it shared with Arena's Virginia.) Only Peter Nowak (D.C. United, 2004) went straight into head coaching and won a title.

SMU lost on penalties to eventual champion Maryland in last year's semifinals and was knocked out by UC Santa Barbara, 3-1, at home in the second round this year. Would it make sense to fire a pro coach (Colin Clarke) who can't win the big one to hire a college coach with the same track record? Still, sources say the choice will be either Hyndman or Soehn.

Soehn played for Dallas in 1997 and 1998 and of the current MLS assistant coaching crop is generally deemed the most ready, if not beyond ready, to take a head coaching job. The smart money, if there is such a thing in Dallas, is on Soehn.

Morrow also played for Dallas (2002-03) following a playing career that included a decade with English Premier League club Arsenal. He passed on a position in Arsenal's development system to coach with Clarke in Dallas and has extensive knowledge of the current team as well as the league. Hitchcock must determine if he's an upgrade or more of the same, or perhaps if he should head the team's development programs rather than the first team.

Agoos has no pro coaching experience and just took the Red Bulls' job. Let's get real.

A few days after jettisoning Clarke, Hitchcock announced midfielder Ronnie O'Brien had been traded to Toronto FC for midfielder Adrian Serioux. Clark's disputes with O'Brien and other players had been cited by Hitchcock as one reason Clarke hadn't been retained, so at least there's one less problem -- a very talented if temperamental player -- for his replacement to deal with.

WORLD AIDS DAY: The soccer angle
"Survivor" star and soccer TV host Ethan Zohn, the co-founder Grassroot Soccer, which uses the sport to educate African youngsters on HIV prevention, has been working with New York-based filmmaker Silas Hagerty to raise awareness on World AIDS Day (Dec. 1). Click here to watch "Lusaka Sunrise," a short video on how soccer has helped fight the HIV/AIDS epidemic, which responsible for decreasing the life expectancy in some African nations by more than 20 years.

US YOUTH SOCCER: Boys Interregional All-Star Teams
The following are the US Youth Soccer boys all-star teams, as selected after the ODP Boys Thanksgiving Interregional at the Disney's Wide World of Sports Complex:

1990 US Youth Soccer Boys All Star Team
Christian Barreiro (Baltimore Casa Mia Bays), Shawn Barry (Boca Juniors, Fla.), Phillip Boerger (Wings SC, Minn.), Nathan Bourdeau (Rochester Rhinos, N.Y.), Brice Carr (FC Milwaukee), Daniel Cruz (Alliance, Ariz.), Michael Denny (Nomads, Calif.), Raymon Gaddis (Indy Burn, Ind.), Maximillian Hamilton (Match Fit Acad., N.J.), Brooks Hopp (Crossfire Premier, Wash.), Jared Jeffrey (Dallas Texans), Brendan King (Chicago Magic), Tyler Klein (Crossfire Premier, Wash.), Christopher Klute (Dallas Texans), David Meves (Sockers FC, Ill.), Tommy Meyer (Scott Gallagher, Mo.), Christopher Miller (Dallas Texans), William Schuler (Match Fit Acad., N.J.), Dane Shea (TSC Texans), Abraham Villon (Rampage FC, Calif.).

1992 US Youth Soccer Boys All Star Team
Alex Bramall (PDA Larson, N.J.), Manuel Cazares (VUSC, Calif.), Jacob Bushue (Chicago Magic), Felipe Cortez (FC United, Ill.), Andrew Craven (First Coast KYX, Fla.), Marlon Duran (Latino Americano, Texas), Earl Edwards (Nomads, Calif.), Zack Foxhoven (Colorado Rush), Joseph-Claude Gyau (Potomac Fusion, Md.), Bryan Leyva (Andromeda Spartans, Texas), Charlie Lyon (Crampton United, Ill.), Carlos Martinez (Downtown LV, Nev.), George Miller (Super Nova FC, Pa.), Shaquille Phillips (Bethesda Roadrunners, Md.), Tyler Polak (CSA Gold Sole, Neb.), Ataklia Tadese (Blackhawk, Minn.), Ross Tomaselli (North Meck Soccer, N.C.), Adam Tormoehlen (Littleton United, Colo.).

1993 US Youth Soccer Boys All Star Team
Robbie Ahn (Nomato, Calif.), Eduardo Alvarez (Greensboro, N.C.), Michael Ambrose (Premier Panthers, Texas), Federico Bertele (Apollo, Fla.), Sean Cunningham (Vardarstars, Mich.), Felix DeBona (Boston Blast FC), Zachary Deville (Notts Forest FC, Calif.), Amadou Dia (Real Colorado), Darvin Ebanks (Cobb Chiefs, Ga.), Isaac Kannah (Wings SC, Minn.), Albert Keaton (Sockers FC, Ill.), Jordan Manley (Bethesda Arsenal, Md.), James Petrucelli (Seacoast United, N.H.), Nicholas Rittmeyer (Bridge FA, Ga.), Kevin Schafer (Albuquerque Untied, N.M.), Alex Wettermann (Sockers FC, Ill.), William Whiddon (Nomads, Calif.), Lucas Winters (Baltimore Bays).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you are able please donate to this worthy cause here

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home