Wednesday, March 18, 2009

ATH: World Cup bids

FIFA Confirms World Cup Bids

On Tuesday, World soccer's governing body announced that 13 countries will be bidding for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups. With both Cups awarded at the end of the year, countries are allowed to bid on both. Depending on who wins hosting rights for 2018, countries from the same Confederation would then be ineligible for 2022. South Korea and Qatar submitted a bid for a specific tournament, with both bidding for 2022.

For both Cups, FIFA has bids from Australia, Belgium/Holland, England, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Spain/Portugal, and the United States.

"We are very pleased about the fantastic level of interest in our flagship competition, with all initial bidders confirming their candidature," FIFA president Sepp Blatter said. "The diversity and quality of the contenders will make this a very interesting selection process. This shows the importance of the FIFA World Cup as a truly universal event and the global power of this competition to help achieve positive change, in line with our claim: For the Game. For the World."

Tags: , , ,

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home