Wednesday, April 27, 2011

CONCACAF Announces Revamped WCQ Plan

CONCACAF has announced the qualifying format they intend to submit to FIFA for final approval next month. The plan CONCACAF is proposing includes a preliminary phase followed by three group phases. The United States would enter in the second group phase, with three groups of four teams. The top two teams from that group phase would advance to the Hexagonal.

The new system would reduce the number of games for the United States from a maximum of 18 to 16 should they qualify from one of the top three places. Seeding for World Cup Qualifying would be based on the March 2011 FIFA Rankings, where the United States was the top ranked team in CONCACAF.

Teams Entering Preliminary Round: Anguilla, Aruba, Bahamas, Belize, Dominican Republic, British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, St. Lucia, Turks and Caicos Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands

Teams Entering First Round: Antigua, Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent, Suriname Trinidad & Tobago

Teams Entering Semifinal Round: Costa Rica, Cuba, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, United States


Post a Comment

<< Home